• Become a Teacher

  • Types of Teaching Credentials

  • The type of teaching credential obtained will determine the subjects and courses an individual can teach.
    Credential Typical Subjects/Courses Taught or position held
    Multiple Subject Teaching Credential Kindergarten - 5th grade; 6th grade/Middle School CORED classes
    Single Subject Teaching Credential* Middle School/High School courses within the credential subject area
    Education Specialist: Early Childhood Preschool Special Education
    Education Specialist: Mild to Moderate Special Education courses for students following the general education curriculum
    Education Specialist: Moderate to Severe Special Education courses for students following a modified curriculum plan
    Pupil Personnel Services School Counselor or School Psychologist
    Early Childhood Teacher Permit Early Childhood Education/Preschool
    Administrative Services Credential (Requires a base Teaching Credential) School site or District Administrator


  • Requirements for a K-12 Teaching Credential

  • Obtaining a teacher certification occurs through a two level credentialing process.  Candidates first complete the requirements for a Preliminary/Level I Teaching Credential.  Typically, successful Preliminary Credential holders will complete an induction program (i.e. BTSA) during their first two years of full-time teaching, in order to obtain a Professional Clear/Level II Teaching Credential. 
    The basic requirements for a K-12 Teaching Credential in the state of California are the same regardless of the type of credential desired.
    A. Complete a baccalaureate or higher degree at an accredited university or college
    B. Satisfy basic skills requirements - This is typically met by passage of the California Basic Education Skills Test (CBEST). 
    C. Verification of subject matter competence - Typically via the California Subject Exam for Teachers (CSET) for the appropriate subject or a pre-approved subject-matter waiver during the completion of a baccalaureate degree (for single subjects only).
    D. Successful participation in a Commission-approved Credential Program or equivalent process, which includes formal recommendation upon completion of student teaching and teacher performance assessments. 
       1. Traditional
       2. Blended
       3. Alternative Certification (Intern)
          a. District Intern
          b. University Intern
    E. Reading Instruction Competence (RICA)-- For Multiple Subject and Education Specialists only
    The following requirements are typically included in either the baccalaureate or credential program if complete at a California university or college, but need to be addressed.
    F. English Learner (EL ) Authorization and Crosscultural, Language, and Academic Development (CLAD) Certificate 
    G. Complete a course (two semester units or three quarter units) in the provisions and principles of the U.S. Constitution or pass an examination given by a regionally-accredited college or university
    H. Complete foundational computer technology course work that includes general and specialized skills in the use of computers in educational settings 
    Types of Teacher Credentialing Programs
     1. Traditional: a traditional program is for those individuals who already have a baccalaureate degree.  These programs are offered at various colleges and universities for specific credential types.  On average a traditional program takes 1 1/2 -2 years to complete and includes 2 terms of student teaching.
     2. Blended: a blended program is for those individuals completing a baccalaureate degree along with a teaching credential at the same time.  It allows the participant to enroll teaching courses typically reserved for graduate students and minimizes the overall time to complete both the degree and credential compared to the traditional programs. 
     3. Alternative Certification (Intern): alternative certification is for individuals who have completed components A-C above and allows for the individual to begin teaching (with pay) in the classroom while completing a Commission-approved credential program.  The time teaching during an alternative certification program serves as the student teaching time required in traditional or blended programs.  Currently, the District has a minimum 2.70 cummulative GPA for the baccalaureate degree requirement for all alternative certification applicants.
    a. District Intern: the District offers programs for subject areas of need.  District Interns receive instruction from veteran teachers in the District and there are no tuition costs or fees.  Participants must complete a 5 or 6 week unpaid orientation/training session the summer prior to beginning the school in order to participate in the program.  Continuance in the program after the start of the school year is contingent upon the individual successfully securing a teaching position within the District.
    b. University Intern: individuals enroll in a local university which has a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the District. Participants must met District eligibility requirements, in additional to the Universities requirements before seeking a teaching position.
  • Contact

            Dr. Bryan Johnson

    Phone Icon (213) 241-4571

    eMail Iconladder@lausd.net 
           (Career Ladder)
           (Teacher Assistants)

      Drop Pin  Address:

    333 S. Beaudry Avenue,
    15th Floor

    Los Angeles, CA 90017 


  • Our office is located on the 15th floor of LAUSD's Administrative Building in Downtown Los Angeles

    Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Telephone: 213.241.4571 | Fascimilie: 213.241.8465 | Email: ladder@lausd.net